A Complete Guide to Florida’s Gun Laws and Gun Charges

 

Firearm Laws in Florida

Almost two million people have a gun license in the state of Florida with 36 other states recognizing this license. Firearm laws operate at the state level in Florida. Florida’s gun laws are considered accommodating compared to other states.

There is no requirement for background checks on private handgun sales or to register firearms. Although gun owners are required to take a firearms training course with the NRA, with a state certified instructor, approved with the Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission, Florida residents can apply and in a fast-track office and complete the process in one trip.

Open carry is not allowed, but Carry in-vehicle and in state parks is allowed.

Minimum Requirements to Have Gun License

  • Must be 21 years old
  • Must complete an approved firearms training course
  • Must be a U.S. citizen or legal resident alien
  • Must reside in the U.S., you do not have to be a resident of Florida
  • Must have less than two DUI convictions within three years
  • Must have no convictions for a violent crime in the last three years, misdemeanor or felony

Gun Laws in Florida

With accommodating gun laws, it is easy to find yourself on the wrong side of the law in Florida. Florida has some of the toughest laws when it comes to firearms and weapons offenses. While residents and non-residents are allowed to legally own a gun, they must follow the laws or can find themselves in legal trouble, facing big fines and hefty jail time.

Guns of Weapons Offenses

A gun or weapon offense occurs when the person committing a crime is found to be possessing a firearm or weapon or if the firearm was purchased or used illegally.

Florida Has the 10/20/Life Law

If a firearm is used to commit a crime, the crime may be enhanced to the next higher degree of a felony and the punishment may be increased.

The minimum/mandatory sentence for committing a crime in the statute with a firearm is:

    • 10 years if a firearm was possessed while committing the crime.
    • 20 years if a firearm was discharged while committing the crime.
    • 25 years to life if someone was injured or killed while committing the crime.

Common Gun Charges:

  • Carrying a concealed firearm without a license is a 3rd-degree felony can bring a sentence of five years in prison and five years probation.
  • Possessing or discharging a gun at a school is a 3rd-degree felony can bring a sentence of five years in prison and five years probation.
  • Providing access to a firearm to a person under the age of 16 is a 2nd-degree felony can bring a sentence of 60 days in jail)
  • Possessing a gun as a felon can bring a sentence of 15 years in prison and 15 years of probation.

Ronald S. Chapman

Ronald S. Chapman is an experienced defense attorney who can represent you if you have been accused of a gun crime. Florida has strict gun laws and you will need Ronald Chapman.

Defense Attorney West Palm Beach

Ronald Chapman practices criminal defense in both State and Federal Courts within the State of Florida. Since 1990, Mr. Chapman has been representing people accused of committing various types of crimes. If you are facing criminal charges in Florida, Ronald Chapman can help.

Schedule your FREE Consultation! Call (561) 832-4348 or visit his website.

Visit us at https://www.justiceflorida.com/ You can also connect with the West Palm Beach Criminal Defense Office online today! Ronald Chapman, an experienced criminal defense lawyer, dedicated to defending your rights. Contact him today to begin to discuss your case.

 

Ronald S. Chapman, P.A.
400 Clematis Street, Suite 206
West Palm Beach, FL 33401
561-832-4348

 

© Copyright 2018. All Rights Reserved.

Share This Blog

ASK A QUESTION,
DESCRIBE YOUR SITUATION,
REQUEST A CONSULTATION

Call Now: (561) 832-4348

* Required Fields
Your Information Is Safe With Us

We respect your privacy. The information you provide will be used to answer your questions or to schedule an appointment if requested.

Follow Us On

400 Clematis St. Suite 206, West Palm Beach, FL 33401
Questions or Schedule An Appointment? Click to Call (561) 832-4348
Leave Us a Review
Read Our Reviews
© Copyrights 2022. Florida Criminal Lawyer. All Rights Reserved.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram