DUI Lawyer in West Palm Beach
Florida has strict laws against driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. That means that even if you’ve been charged with your first DUI, you could spend time in jail, pay a large fine, lose your license, and more. Additionally, you’ll have to deal with the collateral damage of a DUI conviction, such as higher insurance premiums and possibly losing your job if it requires driving.
You might think that a DUI charge means you’re sure to be convicted, but that’s not the case. Ronald S. Chapman, P.A., has over three decades of experience defending clients against DUI charges. Contact our West Palm Beach DUI lawyer today to discuss your options, including strategies to reduce or dismiss the charges.
DUI Defense Strategies
Your West Palm Beach DUI lawyer can use a variety of defense strategies when fighting your charges. They include:
- Inaccurate breathalyzer or blood test results
- The police stopped you illegally
- The police didn’t tell you that your refusal to do roadside exercises could be used against you in court
- Involuntary intoxication
This is far from an all-inclusive list of options. Your attorney needs to look at the facts surrounding your case before determining the right path forward. Get started by contacting our firm for a consultation today.
Penalties for a First-offense DUI in West Palm Beach
Because first-offense DUIs are generally charged as misdemeanors, you might think that they aren’t serious. However, you face fines between $500-$1,000, you can be sentenced to up to six months in jail if convicted, and up to one year if there was an accident. Additional penalties include community service and probation. Also, your driver’s license will be suspended if you are convicted of DUI. The penalties are even more harsh if you had a minor in your car or you had a blood alcohol level greater than 0.15 %.
You will face those penalties only if you’re convicted, so contact our West Palm Beach DUI lawyer today to discuss your case.
Saving your license after a DUI Arrest
When you’re arrested for a DUI in Florida, you’ll forfeit your license and receive a “Notice of Suspension” in its place. This notice allows you to drive for ten more days before your license is suspended.
During the 10-day period, your West Palm Beach DUI lawyer can take steps to help you keep your driving privileges. There are two options for this, starting with requesting an administrative hearing. Once requested, you may be able to get a hardship license that you can use to go to and from work. If you win the hearing, you can get your license reinstated. However, if you lose the hearing, you will not be able to drive at all for 30 to 90 days, depending upon whether you blew into the breath machine.
You can also forgo the DUI administrative hearing and request a hardship license to use for the duration of your suspension. Your West Palm Beach DUI lawyer will discuss your options with you and help you choose the one that’s right for you.