Blog

DUI and Driver’s License Suspensions

If a person is convicted of DUI in Florida, his driver’s license is suspended by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.  How long his license is suspended for varies depending upon such things as how many DUI convictions he has and when they occurred.  Florida statute section 322.28 lists the following periods of suspension:

  • For a first DUI conviction, an individual’s license is revoked for a minimum of 6 months and a maximum of 1 year.
     
  • For a second DUI conviction within 5 years of a prior DUI conviction, an individual’s license is revoked for a minimum of 5 years.
     
  • For a second DUI conviction more than 5 years after a prior DUI conviction, an individual’s license is revoked for a minimum of 6 months and a maximum of 1 year.
     
  • For a third DUI conviction within 10 years of a prior DUI conviction, an individual’s license is revoked for a minimum of 10 years.
     
  • For a third DUI conviction more than 10 years after both prior DUI convictions, an individual’s license is revoked for a minimum of 6 months and a maximum of 1 year.
     
  • For a fourth DUI conviction, an individual’s license is revoked permanently.
     
  • If convicted of DUI involving serious bodily injury, an individual’s license is revoked for a minimum of 3 years.
     
  •  If convicted of DUI manslaughter, an individual’s license is revoked permanently.

 

Call Now
Review